A collection of seasonal recipes and stories

market report 10.08.11

My brother texted me yesterday to tell me he’d just eaten the best apple of his life. It was a Honeycrisp. This year everyone’s all about the Sweetango but I find they have little to offer other than overwhelming sweetness. Plus, it’s hard to take yourself seriously when you’re eating something called a sweetango.

The Bartletts need a bit of time to ripen, and I need to figure out what type of plums those are. Italian prune plums, I think, in which case they’re going to become a tart. Or this delicious-looking thing. Probably both. There’s plenty of plums.

Update 10.10.11:
From my boss, the Obi Wan Kenobi of fruit: “No mystery. . .they are Stanley prune plums, the most commonly grown plum in Michigan.” And evidently you can just eat them. I tried one. It was pretty, um, common.

3 responses

  1. I like your market seasonal photographs a lot, great Idea. About the mystery plums: Here in Switzerland we differ between plums and “zwetschgen”. Plums for the round version. zwetschgen the more elongate just as on your picture. zwetschgen are great for jams or sweet-sour preservings.

    October 11, 2011 at 3:05 am

  2. I love those plums! I never eat them raw though because I don’t think they have tons of flavor and they aren’t as juicy as black or red plums. They are marvelous in desserts, baked or roasted. Also–jam. Amazing jam. I love your market reports. :)

    October 11, 2011 at 5:01 pm

  3. Rachel Southwood

    Oh my goodness, I have been looking for something like this for months! So glad I stumbled on this

    October 12, 2011 at 1:04 am

Leave a comment